City of Orlando



About Us

Orlando’s history dates back to 1838 and the height of the Seminole Wars. The U.S. Army built Fort Gatlin south of the present day Orlando City limits to protect settlers from attacks by Indians.

By 1840, a small community had grown up around the Fort. It was known as Jernigan, named after the Jernigan family, who had established the first permanent settlement in the area. Jernigan had a post office, established May 30, 1850.

Six years later with the settlement expanding northward, the community officially changed its name to Orlando. In 1857, the U.S. Post Office adopted the name change. The Town of Orlando was incorporated in 1875 with 85 inhabitants, 22 of whom were qualified voters.

Rep/Contact Info

Brooke Bonnett
Division Manager of Business Development
The Honorable Buddy Dyer
The Honorable Jim Gray
Commissioner, District 1
Cheryl Henry
Chief of Staff
The Honorable Regina Hill
Comm. District 5
Melanie McCallum
Special Assistant to the Mayor
Piero Meza Quiroz
Digital Communications Spec - District 5
Adolfina Ortiz
Administrative Specialist To The Executive Director
The Honorable Tony Ortiz
Commissioner, District 2
Jessica Padilla
Exec Asst to Mayor Dyer
Kathy Russell
Director of Intergovernmental Relations
The Honorable Patty Sheehan
Commissioner, District 4
Leo Stoney
Senior Aide to Commissioner Burns
The Honorable Robert Stuart
Commssioner, District 3
Daniel Vega
Administrative Assistant
Cynthia Wilson
Office of Communications
Sharon Wilson
Administrative Special to Chief of Staff